The 5 Languages of Love

saying i love you

We all need love and connection to live a happy life. However, we do not always speak the same languages of love. In this article, we want to share with you the concept of the 5 love languages. According to Dr Gary Chapman, we all receive love from others in different ways. And this can increase the likelihood of miscommunication and misunderstandings in the relationship. So, it is useful to know each other’s love language types.


language of love drawing woman holding a rose with hearts around her head


The love languages list includes words of affirmation, quality time, acts of service, physical touch and receiving gifts.


people saying love with hand signs on a sea background



#1. Words Of Affirmation

The first love language is typical for people who need to hear compliments and encouraging words from their partners. If this is the primary love language of your loved one, avoid any rude and insulting words. Besides, make sure you express verbally how much you love and appreciate them.

loving couple woman and man cuddling on a brown leather sofa


#2. Quality Time

People who “speak“ the quality time love language need to receive your undivided attention when you are together. If your partner is one of them, avoid interruptions and distractions (phone calls, TV in the background etc). Also, make sure you plan and do enough meaningful things together as a couple.


cheers together couple dressed in winter clothes enjoying a warm beverage


#3. Acts Of Service

People have different love languages but those of us who appreciate acts of service to feel loved would like when their partners make their lives easier. For example, this can include throwing away the trash because you see they are under stress. Besides, it would feel nice to them to receive tangible help when they need to finish a project. On the other hand, avoid breaking your word, being lazy and making their life more complicated.


ways to show love couple cuddling and smiling


#4. Physical Touch

People who have physical touch as their primary love language need to be close to and cuddled by their partner. If your partner is one of them, make sure you are physically available and hug them enough. Naturally enough, neglect and physical abuse are unacceptable.

Pink Love balloons and a couple in a bed cuddling in white bathrobes


#5. Receiving Gifts

Last, but not least, there are also people who need gifts to feel loved. This does not mean that they are materialistic. Gifts are just their way of knowing that you think about them.


woman holding rose petals in her hands on the background of open books


If your partner has this primary love language, make sure you do not forget any important occasion. In addition, never allow yourself to bring a gift that you have not put any thought into. Your partner will appreciate only gifts that you have carefully selected.


love languages pink retro typewriter decorated with flowers on a pink background


How To Use The 5 Love Languages

First, it is important to find out your own primary languages of love. Go through the descriptions of the love languages types and ask yourself what makes you feel happiest and most loved. Second, identify the primary love language of those around you.


retro love collage couple cuddling on a pink sky background and glitter around


You may find out that you and the people around you receive love in different ways. If so, communicate to them what you need to feel loved. Also, make sure you express your love towards them in a way they can relate to.


hearts drawn on a beach in the wet sand


Last, but not least, you can use the 5 languages of love concept when you are looking for a romantic partner. Speaking the same love languages may not guarantee you a lasting fulfilling relationship. Yet, love compatibility is definitely a step forward in the right direction.


Most Popular

To Top